Tags

, , ,

Dr Muna Al-Jawad works as a Consultant Geriatrician at the Royal Sussex County Hospital in Brighton. She started drawing comics about 2 years ago. She sees comics as a qualitative research method, a way to explore difficult areas of practice.

I hesitate to introduce myself as a geriatrician. It upsets me to admit this, but it’s true. Although I feel proud of my work and my choice of specialty, I’m slightly embarrassed about announcing it, maybe people won’t respect me as much as say, a cardiologist.

This is her talk from the Comics Forum Graphic Medicine Day in Leeds this past November, followed by an insightful Q&A with the audience, including co-panelists Linda Raphael and MK Czerwiec. Since Muna’s work is not yet published, and the images in the AAC feed will be quite small, I’ve included some of her strips she discusses below. You can also subscribe to the Graphic Medicine podcast to hear all the talks from the Leeds Comics Forum Graphic Medicine day.

